top of page

Erika's Peanut Butter Blossoms

Christmas cookies are a time-honored tradition. One full of cherished memories with my mother in the kitchen. They are easily one of my favorite parts of the season. Since I have started to cut dairy and gluten out of my diet (with the occasional cheating) I have had to find new ways to cook.

It is important to me on this journey to not deprive myself, but to instead fuel my body with ingredients that make it feel good. When I eat sweets or highly processed food, my body tells me that it doesn’t feel good and that I’m not serving it. With that I decided to attempt to make some Christmas cookies that I can enjoy without my body hating me. That is how this recipe was cooked up!

So here is what you need!

Ingredients

  • ½ cup Coconut Oil

  • 1 Egg

  • ½ Cup Honey

  • ½ Cup Peanut Butter

  • 1 ½ Cup Gluten Free Flour

  • Hershey Kisses

  • 1 tsp Vanilla Extract

  • 1 tsp Salt

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

  2. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

  3. First add the coconut oil and soften it so it mixes easily.

  4. Next add the honey, eggs, peanut butter, vanilla extract, and salt.

  5. Add the flour a little at a time to make sure it mixes well.

  6. Bake for 8-10 minutes or until lightly golden brown.

  7. Once removed from the oven add one Hershey kiss to the middle of each cookie and let cool.

Now this recipe isn’t completely dairy free, unless you can find dairy free Hershey kisses, but I was short on time and did this on a whim. Overall though I found these to be fluffy and still held the flavor of the classic peanut butter blossom cookies. I’m excited to have a healthier option this holiday season!

Take a crack at these and let me know what you think! I would love your feedback for future recipe development.

XOXO,

Erika

bottom of page