top of page

Sweet Potato Noodles with Kale & Onion

Hi friends! Sorry I have been MIA for a while. I had a couple weeks off of school, so I decided to embrace my time with my friends and family. Now that I am back in the Treasure State it’s time to get back at it. So, to kick off this new semester I am really focusing on eating a primarily plant based diet. I have learned to listen to my body and it feels the most balanced when I eat real, whole foods.

A key to success I have found is meal prepping, or basically just making a large amount of food at once and eating it the rest of the week. I got a spiralizer to start making noodles from different vegetable, so last night I decided to give sweet potato noodles a shot. Let me tell you they are delicious. My best friend knows I have been trying to eat cleaner, so she got me this amazing cookbook for Christmas, Real Food, Real Simple by Taylor Riggs. It is paleo-friendly and the recipes are really simple, which for an amateur cook like me is ideal. So this recipe is from her amazing book on page 41.

So I had to make some changes because I decided to not make the “cheese sauce” that the recipe called for. I also added some additional onion. It did take a while for me to make the sweet potato into noodles, so even though it is easy it is slightly time consuming. With that being said here are the few easy steps it takes to make this delicious and satisfying meal.

4-6 Servings

Ingredients

3 Large Sweet Potatoes

1 Tbsp olive oil

1 cup yellow onion, finely chopped

6 cups kale, roughly chopped

Directions

  1. Spiralize the sweet potatoes into thin noodles

  2. In a large skillet add the kale, onion, and olive oil over medium heat

  1. Sauté until the onions are softened and the kale begins to wilt, this takes about 2-3 minutes

  1. Add the sweet potato noodles and continue to saute until the noodles have softened or cooked to your liking, which takes about 7-8 minutes

  1. Remove the pan from the head and stir to combine

  2. Refrigerate the leftovers in a covered container

Notes: My skillet wasn’t big enough to do this all in one, so I added ½ the onions and about 1/3 the kale and then 1/3 of the noodles and repeated the process until it was all cooked

Next time I will be making the cashew cheese sauce provided in the book and recommended with this recipe. Also if you like simple recipes I highly recommend purchasing this book. There are several amazing recipes and I will definitely be using it in the future. Well until next time, happy cooking!

Peace & Love,

Erika

bottom of page