top of page

Lessons Learned and New Horizons

Well, Christmas is over and New Year’s Eve is approaching. Since I stepped off the plane in Detroit I have been constantly on the go. Finally having time to relax I’m realizing that New Year’s Eve is in a few days, which means it’s time to start thinking about my New Year’s resolution. I am not someone that always makes a resolution, and if I do who knows if I will actually stick with it. That being said, when making a resolution I always look at a few different things.

1. What did I enjoy about this past year?

I think that it is really important when making a resolution that it isn’t always about stuff you feel like you did wrong, and instead look a little at what you did right as well! As I have said in previous posts, 206 has been a year of change. I graduated with my bachelor’s degree and moved across the country to somewhere where I didn’t know a soul. I am really proud of my ability to stay positive throughout all of this change. Sure, I wasn’t jumping with joy every day of 2016, but overall I did my best to take all the challenges in stride. My big resolution for 2016 was “go with your gut,” which allowed me to keep a positive outlook throughout this year. I knew that everything was happening for a reason and that I was on a path that was meant for me.

I also loved that this year I took risk and did things that I was initially scared to do. I believe that one of the best things we can do for personal growth is go outside of our comfort zone. I made an effort do to that this year, and I believe that is why I loved it so much. I don’t want to live in regret of not playing an active role in my life. Now a day’s people take a very passive role in life, and I am happy that I could grab 2016 by the horns and live life to the fullest. I hope to keep that passion for life this upcoming year.

2. What would I change about this past year?

This past year did have its challenges, and though I believe that overall I was positive throughout I also know that I was not perfect in this. I could have taken a step back and realized that certain things were not worth the attention I was giving them. I think that this is going to drive my goals for 2017.

I am a passionate individual, whether it’s about health and fitness, my family, politics, school, or my friendships. No matter what I am putting my mind to I give it 110%. This isn’t a bad thing to do, but it also make it harder for me to take a step back when needed. If I could change anything about this past year it would have been listen to what I needed more and take time for myself when needed. I did make a conscious effort to make time for myself, but I also definitely need to continuously work on that.

3. What is a new experience I want to try this upcoming year?

I am so excited for 2017. I believe that great things are ahead for me. I am excited to embrace my new home, my new friendships, and my new business. I am very focused on self-betterment. I am constantly striving to grow as an individual and there are a few things I want to start doing this upcoming year.

The first is find new ways to stay fit. I love lifting and biking, but I have always been a little nervous about running. I was that kid that dreaded the mile run growing up. To help push myself I decided to join the local running organization in my town. I know I won’t just fall in love with running overnight, but joining a positive running community is a great first step. Also, I have always said that I wanted to try kickboxing, but I have yet to actually follow through. Luckily, I have finally found a gym that will fit my class and work schedule better and offers several kickboxing classes throughout the week. To help reach my fitness goals this year I have looked at my schedule and literally entered these classes into my google calendar because I know if I don’t do that then the chances of me following through exponentially decrease

Another goal of mine is find new ways to start eating my fruits and veggies. I love finding new ways to fuel my body, and cooking has become a passion of mine. I have also found that eating a primarily plant-based diet is the best for my body. Food preparation is the key to success and I hope to try a new recipe every other week to keep variety in my meals.

Lastly, I hope to be more mindful. As a perfectionist and a go-getter, I struggle with being a tad high strung and anxiety ridden. To help combat this I am embracing mindfulness. To start this, I will be starting daily meditation. I know it won’t be easy to start meditating, but even a few minutes at a time before I start and end my day should be a good start.

When it comes to making a resolution for the new year, I always try to look at the big picture of what I want the upcoming year to look like. I am excited for the possibilities ahead and the small, simple steps I will be taking this new year. What do you like to do when making a New Year’s resolution?

Peace & Love,

Erika

bottom of page