top of page

DIY Butternut Squash Soup


Hello again!

Last night I decided to try my hand at making some homemade butternut squash soup. This time of the year all I want to do is curl up with a good book and eat something warm and for me that means a hearty soup. Well after doing some Pinterest searching I found a crockpot soup recipe that I thought was doable for my first try. I made some changes to the recipe based on what I had, and what spices I typically enjoy using. Here is the link to the original recipe, http://littlespicejar.com/curried-butternut-squash-soup-slow-cooker/ and below I will talk about the changes I made to it.

Ingredients:

1 Butternut Squash (2-2.5 lbs)

1 Yellow Onion

2 Granny Smith Apples

2 Carrots (7 inch)

1 teaspoon chopped garlic

2 cups water (in the recipe above they recommended veggie broth)

1/2 cup almond coconut cream

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon nutmeg

1/2 teaspoon cumin

Directions:

1. First chop the butternut squash, yellow onion, apples, carrots, and garlic and put them into the crock pot. If you are having trouble chopping the butternut squash you can put it into the microwave for 2-3 minutes which will soften it and make it easier to peel and chop. There are also places to buy pre-cut butternut squash, which can be a timesaver! If only I had known!

2. Add 2 cups of water (or broth if you are going that route) and add the the cinnamon, nutmeg and cumin.

3. Stir the ingredients together in the crockpot and turn it on low for 7 hours. You can adjust the time and put the crockpot on high for 4 hours. You will know the vegetables are ready for the next step when you can easily fork the squash.

4. Add the cream (you can use normal heavy cream but being someone who is dairy sensitive I chose another route) and stir the ingredients. Now blend the softened veggies/cream/spices to make your soup! You can add more of the spices to taste but I didn't because I loved the taste already! Also just note that the texture is meant to be thick!

I hope you all enjoy! Here's the finished product :)

Peace & Love,

Erika

bottom of page